TEAM

Dr. Dimitrij Saldanha
Managing Partner

Dr. Saldanha has over 20 years of experience in industry, business development and financial advisory. During his career he had been working in International M&A and Business Development for Hochtief AG, Germany’s leading construction company, at Geocapital, a US Venture Capital company and most recently at McKinsey Inc. In 2007 he co-founded FaMAS GmbH, a business development and investment advisory firm. During his career he has worked on more than 40 transactions in 9 countries with a total value of more than EUR 1 bn.

Dr. Saldanha is a recognized international expert on mid-cap international corporate investments with a focus on Germany. He has advised 8 German banks on distressed corporate debt management. In this field he has numerous publications. Among others he has been invited as speaker at the Chinese Outbound Investment Conference in Beijing in 2013 and completed a PhD on Investments in Distressed companies in Germany.

He holds a degree (Masters) in Finance from London Business School, a B. A. in European Business Administration (London) and a “Diplom-Betriebswirt” (FH) from Reutlingen (ESB), Germany. He is fluent in German, English and Russian.

Faruk Baltaci
Managing Partner

The professional career of Mr. Baltaci includes Roland Berger Consulting, Messer Group (former subsidiary of Hoechst), Messer Eutectic Castolin Group (formed by Carlyle through a merger with Messer Group), Expedia Group, AgfaPhoto Holding as well as Anvis Group. He has assumed several times the position of CFO and was also “President of the Board of Directors”.
Mr. Baltaci was continuously responsible for various operational reorganisation and restructuring assignments with special emphasis on Turn-Around Management, optimisation, transfer or closure of operations, cost-saving projects, Working Capital Management, Supply Chain Management, Sales & Distribution reorganisation as well as different IT projects.

Mr. Baltaci holds an international double degree in Business Administration from Germany and UK as well as an MBA from Canada. He has work experience from Germany, France, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, UK, Spain and Mexico where he held leading management positions. Mr. Baltaci speaks six languages fluently.

He is presently in charge of setting up and growing FaMAS operations in Mexico.

Jürgen Wilms
Special Advisor

Mr. Wilms has completed nearly 25 years as Partner and Director of McKinsey & Company and Bain & Company, two of the leading international consulting companies. Throughout his career he specialised on business development and profitability improvement. He served a very wide variety of companies in diverse geographies, allowing him to transport unique experience and ideas across industries. His international experience includes seven years in Eastern Europe where he founded the McKinsey office in Warsaw (market leader with over 60 consultants) and dealt with many aggressive start up and business building projects for leading local and international companies. At the turn of the century he also spent several years in the US serving industrial companies. He returned to Germany to found and lead the German Corporate Recovery Practice at McKinsey. Here, he focused on the specific challenges of emergency turnaround programmes for highly distressed companies.

Herbert Sternberg
Special Advisor

Mr. Sternberg has spent his career working for a number of prestigious banks. Having served his first 8 professional years at the Landesbank and Girozentrale in Kiel he became director at the Bankhaus Märklin & Co in 1971. After further positions as a managing director at Bankhaus Koch, Lauteren & Co. and American Express Bank he was elected to the Board of Directors at the Allgemeine Deutsche Direktbank AG. Since 1997 Mr. Sternberg has advised on many special banking issues as an independent consultant. He has dealt with Turnaround and M&A in German banking since 1971.

TEAM

Dr. Dimitrij Saldanha
Managing Partner

Dr. Saldanha hat über 20 Jahre Erfahrung in Industrie, Unternehmensentwicklung und Finanzberatung. Seine Laufbahn führte ihn vom internationalen M&A und der Unternehmensentwicklung bei der Hochtief AG, Deutschlands führender Baufirma, zu Geocapital, einem amerikanischen Venture Capital-Unternehmen, und zuletzt zu McKinsey Inc. 2007 gründete er die FaMAS GmbH, ein Unternehmen mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Unternehmensentwicklung und Investitions-Beratung. Im Laufe seiner bisherigen Karriere hat er an mehr als 40 Transaktionen in 9 Ländern mit einem Gesamtwert von mehr als EUR 1 Mrd. gearbeitet.

Dr. Saldanha ist ein anerkannter Experte für grenzüberschreitende Transaktionen mit einem Fokus auf mittelständische Firmen in Deutschland. Er hat 8 deutsche Banken zur Verbesserung des Workouts von notleidenden Unternehmenskrediten beraten und in diesem Bereich zahlreiche Publikationen veröffentlicht. Dr. Saldanha wurde 2013 als Sprecher im Rahmen der „Chinese Outbound Investment Conference“ nach Peking eingeladen. Er hat zum Thema „Bewertung notleidender und insolventer Unternehmen in Deutschland“ promoviert.

Dr. Saldanha hat einen Master-Abschluss in Finance von der London Business School, einen Bachelor of Arts (B. A.) in European Business Administration (London) und ist Diplom-Betriebswirt (FH Reutlingen). Er spricht Deutsch, Englisch und Russisch fließend.

Faruk Baltaci
Managing Partner

Die beruflichen Stationen von Herrn Baltaci waren Roland Berger, Messer Group (ehemalige Tochter von Höchst),  und Messer Eutectic Castolin Group (durch Carlyle mit Messer Group verschmolzen). Er besetzte mehrfach CFO Positionen und einmal die Position des „President des Boards of Directors“.

Herr Baltaci war kontinuierlich mit der Leitung operativer Restrukturierungsaufgaben betraut. Diese umfassten wesentliche Aspekte der Sanierung, Standortverlagerung bzw.-  auflösung (z. B. bei Castolin Eutectic), Kostenreduktion, Working Capital Management, Supply Chain Management sowie vertriebsseitige Reorganisation (z. B. bei Messer France) als auch diverse IT Projekte. Des weiteren zählt er Spezialprojekte bei Agfaphoto, Expedia und Agfaphoto Holding zu seinen Referenzen.

Herr Baltaci absolvierte sein internationales Studium der Betriebswirtschaft in Deutschland und England und zählt zusätzlich ein MBA aus Kanada zu seinen Abschlüssen. Er kann auf Berufserfahrung in Belgien, Frankreich, Schweiz, Deutschland, Italien, England und Spanien verweisen, wo er u.a. auch Führungspositionen in Finanzen und Controlling eingenommen hat. Er beherrscht fünf Sprachen fließend.

Jürgen Wilms
Special Advisor

Herr Wilms zählt mit insgesamt fast 25 Jahre als Partner und Direktor zum Führungsteam von McKinsey & Company und Bain & Company zwei führenden internationalen Beratungsunternehmen. Sein Spezialgebiet liegt in der Unternehmensentwicklung und Profitabilitätssteigerung. Aufgrund seiner langjährigen Beratertätigkeit in einer Vielzahl von Unternehmen, sammelte er hierin weltweit und branchenübergreifende Erfahrungen. Jürgen Wilms internationale Karriere umfasst einen siebenjährigen Aufenthalt in Osteuropa, in denen er das McKinsey Büro Warschau gründete, das nun mit ca. 60 Beratern zu den Marktführern in Polen zählt. Zudem beriet er während seiner Zeit in Osteuropa zahlreiche nationale und internationale Unternehmen in Markteintritts- und Unternehmensentwicklungs-Projekten. Um die Jahrtausendwende verbrachte Herr Wilms einige Jahre in den USA, in denen sein Fokus auf der Beratung großer Industriebetriebe lag. Nach seiner Heimkehr gründete er die deutsche Corporate Recovery Practice für McKinsey, die sich auf die Herausforderungen der Turnaround Strategie für hochgradig notleidende Unternehmen spezialisierte.

Herbert Sternberg
Special Advisor

Herr Sternberg verbrachte seine berufliche Karriere in renommierten Bankhäusern. Nach dem Start bei der Landesbank und Girozentrale in Kiel in 1963, wurde er bereits 1971 Prokurist beim Bankhaus Märklin & Co. Nach weiteren Stationen in der Geschäftsleitung beim Bankhaus Koch, Lauteren & Co. und American Express Bank GmbH wurde er 1993 Mitglied des Vorstandes der Allgemeinen Deutschen Direktbank AG. Seit 1997 ist Herr Sternberg freiberuflich tätig. Er hat u.a. Aufsichtsrats- und Beiratsmandate inne. Herr Sternberg beschäftigt sich im Bankbereich bereits seit 1971 mit Sanierungen sowie M&A Transaktionen.